37th Te Marua Masters, 27th – 30th December, 2015

The 37th Te Marua “Masters” Golf Tournament was held from 27th to 30th December inclusive at the Te Marua Golf Club, 5km north of Upper Hutt.

Blessed with what were probably the best 4 days of brilliant summer weather in the last 10 years, there was a lot of very good golf played.

The 72-hole stroke-play Tournament is played in 5 Handicap divisions. For the Women, 2 divisions – Silver (0 – 18.4) and Bronze (18.5 – 40.4). For the Men, 3 divisions – Senior (0 – 9.8), Intermediate (9.9 – 15.5) and Junior (15.6 to maximum of 28.7).

The primary competition, in each division, is a gross-score contest where every shot counts and it is the final actual score which really matters.

There can be only one winner in each division and along with the typical set of golf prizes, those winners each receive a Te Marua Masters Jacket – a recognition of the event being the local version of the well know ‘Green Jacket” event held in the U.S.A., The Masters. (The Te Marua Masters Jacket is Blue.)

The full event also incorporates Nett and Stableford competitions, long-drive, nearest-the-pin, and hole-in-two contests. Consequently all players, high and low handicappers alike, have the opportunity to pick up a prize during the 4 days of golfing competition.

The 154 competitors, playing in their relevant Handicap divisions, battled for the ultimate prize – the title of Te Marua Masters Champion for 2015, and the coveted “Blue Jacket”.

The Te Marua Masters is also the season opener for the Wellington Golf Inc’s Order of Merit programme, a series of events where eligible, low handicappers compete for the title of Wellington Golf’s #1 player .

This year’s contest attracted a good number of single figure handicappers, including a few on ‘plus’ handicaps, a golf handicap which reflects some serious ability and skill in the sport of golf, skill which includes everything from hitting the ball 250m+ straight down the middle to playing miraculous recovery shots when things don’t go quite right to lofting a gentle chip to up to the hole to sinking 10m+ putts – some very impressive work.

But do not forget the rest of the field – everyone in the event will have displayed some hidden talent, be it only once or maybe many times. Playing even the occasional great shot, sinking the occasional long or difficult-to-read putt provides great memories for every golfer to treasure – and talk about with friends, golfers and non-golfers alike !

The Masters Champions for 2015, their 72-hole scores and their home club are:

    Silver                 Lisa Edgar                               329         Surfers Paradise (Australia
Bronze              Audrey Messenger                370         Te Marua

    Senior              Peter Spearman-Burn            282         Miramar
Intermediate  Kayne Martin                           317         Te Marua
Junior              Alex Walters                            351         Featherston


From left to right, Audrey Messenger, Alex Walters, Kayne Martin, Zane Wilkins (2nd in Junior Division), Lisa Edgar, Peter Spearman-Burn

Special congratulations to Lisa Edgar who, in the process of claiming her 2015 Te Marua Masters title, set a new Women’s Course Record of 70 on Day 1 of the competition.

The Junior Division was decided by a play-off after Alex Walters, who has played in every Te Marua Masters tournament since its inception in 1979, and Zane Wilkins, a youngster playing in his first Te Marua Masters, both returned 72-hole scores of 351.  Alex took the 2015 title in the first play-off hole but it must be said that over the 4 days of the event, Zane showed the talent which is hovering, ready to take on the world – take a note of that name, Zane Wilkins, a golfing talent to be watched for sure.

The Te Marua Golf Club extends its thanks the Tournament’s sponsors, the staff and dedicated group of volunteers, competitors and supporters, who together helped make the 2015 Te Marua Masters a resounding success.

The 38th Te Marua Masters will be held from Dec 27th to Dec 30th, 2016 – Put this great event in your golfing calendar now.