36th Te Marua Masters, 27th-30th December 2014


with Te Marua Golf Club and co-sponsors

diva[1]          kess[1]

brought you the

36th Te Marua Masters

incorporating the  WGI 2015 Order of Merit Season Opener

which was held  from 27th – 30th December 2014

A 72-hole event open to golfers with an authorised 18-hole Handicap Index, it attracted a field of 140 golfers across 3 Men’s and 2 Women’s handicap-index based divisions.

4 days of great golfing weather capped off by superb facilities and services operated by

before and/or after the golfing day.


Who was there……….

In the Men’s Senior division Daniel Hillier was back to defend his title. After a good stint at the Inter-provincials with the Wellington team and remembering that he shot a 64 last year he was promising to be hard to beat. Previous winners Legion Tumataroa (2011) and Michael Trass (2012) were also in the field. The top 5 were:

  • Daniel Hillier, Manor Park
  • Matthew Pegg, Wainuiomata
  • Nick Ming, Pakuranga
  • Tom Slaven, Royal Wellington
  • Malcolm Gullery, Boulcott’s Farm


The Men’s Intermediate division,  Te Marua’s Rick Witana was back to defend his title. The top 5 were:

  • Ian Mawdesley, Te Marua
  • Michael Chapman, Te Marua
  • Roger Thompson, Manor Park
  • Wayne Turner, Te Marua
  • Brandon Karawana, Wainuiomata


The 2013 Men’s Junior division champion Chris Hislop was in the Intermediate division for the 2014 tournament, so we would be seeing a new Junior Champion for 2014.  Or maybe not as Alex Walters, appearing in his 35th Masters and playing in the Junior division, was likely to be a strong contender. Yes that is right he has played in every one and won a few. The top 6 were:

  • Mark Anderson, Te Marua
  • Steve Pasene, Karori
  • John Grant, Boulcott’s Farm
  • Anthony Jefferson, Judgeford
  • Blake Redmond, Te Marua
  • Alex Walters, Featherston


The Women’s Silver division was a small field but a lot of clubs were represented. The top 5 contenders were:

  • Jennie Hewitt, Manor Park
  • Saida Wilson, Judgeford
  • Amie Clisby, Te Marua
  • Adrienne MacMillan, Kapiti
  • Erika Cui, Boulcott’s Farm


The Women’s Bronze division was also a small field but once again a good representation from clubs. Te Marua’s Chrissy Doughty (2013 Champion) had moved up to the Silver division so there was an opportunity someone else. The top 5 were:

  • Zhuoyi Hu, Boulcott’s Farm
  • Maryanne Gray, Wainuiomata
  • Dale Fayen, Te Marua
  • Theresa Scholey, Te Marua
  • Beverly Simmons, Wainuiomata


And how did it all go ?  View the 2014 results here !